Historical 40th Anninversary of ISRO - Outreach

On 15th August, 2009 we celebrate the 40th anniversary of the formation of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO). ISRO was formed under the aegis of the Department of Atomic Energy..

Beginning: The Government of India supported various scientific efforts in the country through the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) under the leadership of Dr. Homi J Bhaba. After the launch of Sputnik satellite by the former Soviet Union, it was decided that the country shall formulate its own space programme. A committee called the Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) was created in 1962 under the leadership of Vikram Sarabhai to take over Space science and research responsibilities of DAE and formulate Indian Space program.

On August 15, 1969 the INCOSPAR was reconstituted to form organization by name Indian Space Research Organization. Whereas later in 1972, the Government of India formed the Department of Space and the Space Commission and ISRO was transferred to this department as the organization implementing India’s Space Programme

Outreach activities: Society would like to congratulate ISRO on the selfless work done by it for the growth and development of the nation and would like to express our support in its future programmes. Importantly society plans to conduct year long events and celebrations commemorating 40th anniversary. For this it has Compiled Virtual School Kit (which included PPT, Video, publications) which can be downloaded.

Further society also plans distribute Chandrayaan CD along with various activities including poster exhibition in schools. Distribution of Special CD would be done on reciept of support from Space and Astronomy and Instrumentation Division, ISRO.

Kindly click here to hear more on ISRO journey of 40 Years as Pradeep Mohandas would speak to you.

No comments:

Post a Comment